Head-to-head

Afterpay vs Klarna

Same four interest-free payments — different fees, limits and credit rules. Here's where Afterpay and Klarna actually differ, and which one to pick for your next purchase.

Updated November 8, 2026 4 min read Fact-checked against Afterpay's US terms
0% vs 0%cost when paid on time
$8 vs $7late fee
~$4,000Afterpay ceiling
Not reportedAfterpay Pay in 4 credit reporting

At a glance

Afterpay and Klarna are the two BNPL names US shoppers see most often, and their core product is nearly identical: four interest-free payments over six weeks. The differences are in the extras — Klarna's 30-day option and longer financing, Afterpay's tighter in-store integration — and in the fee details.

APAfterpay
Short plan
Pay in 4 · 6 weeks
Cost on time
0%
Late fee
Up to $8 after 10-day grace; ≤25% of order
Longer plans
Pay Monthly $400–$4,000 · 3–24 mo · ~6.99–35.99% APR · no late fees
Limit
A few hundred $ to start; up to ~$4,000
In-store
Digital card in Apple/Google Pay; Plus Card subscription
KLKlarna
Short plan
Pay in 4 · 6 weeks, or Pay in 30 days
Cost on time
0%
Late fee
Up to $7 after 10 days; ≤25% of order (service fee up to $3 on some plans)
Longer plans
Financing 6–36 mo · 0–35.99% APR · late fee up to $35
Limit
Decided per purchase; Pay in 30 up to $1,000
In-store
Klarna Card and one-time card almost anywhere

Afterpay vs Klarna: side by side

AfterpayKlarna
OwnerBlock, Inc. (Cash App)Klarna Group (NYSE: KLAR)
Founded2014, Sydney2005, Stockholm
Short-term planPay in 4 · 6 weeksPay in 4 · 6 weeks, or Pay in 30 days
Cost when paid on time0%0%
Late feeUp to $8 after 10-day grace; ≤25% of orderUp to $7 after 10 days; ≤25% of order (service fee up to $3 on some plans)
Longer financingPay Monthly $400–$4,000 · 3–24 mo · ~6.99–35.99% APR · no late feesFinancing 6–36 mo · 0–35.99% APR · late fee up to $35
Spending limitA few hundred $ to start; up to ~$4,000Decided per purchase; Pay in 30 up to $1,000
Credit check & reportingSoft check; Pay in 4 not reportedSoft check for Pay in 4; hard check possible for financing; not routinely reported
In-storeDigital card in Apple/Google Pay; Plus Card subscriptionKlarna Card and one-time card almost anywhere
Scale59M Cash App monthly actives; 2,000+ US brands120M+ active consumers; 1.2M merchants worldwide
Best forSimple, small-to-mid retail orders; in-store tap-to-payFlexibility — Pay in 30 to try before you buy, broad store reach

Published US terms as of November 8, 2026. Both providers approve each purchase individually; your offer may differ.

Fees and late payments

Both short-term plans are interest-free when paid on time. The differences show up when something goes wrong:

  • Afterpay: late fee up to $8 per installment, only after a 10-day grace period, total capped at 25% of the order. One free reschedule per order. Pay Monthly plans have no late fees.
  • Klarna: Up to $7 after 10 days; ≤25% of order (service fee up to $3 on some plans).

Whichever you use: turn on autopay, keep the linked card funded, and don't run more than two or three plans at once. LendingTree found 47% of BNPL users paid at least one installment late in the past year — the fee is small, but the habit isn't.

Limits and longer plans

Afterpay starts new customers at a few hundred dollars and raises the available-to-spend with on-time history toward about $4,000. For $400–$4,000 online purchases, Pay Monthly adds 3–24-month terms at a disclosed APR.

Klarna: Decided per purchase; Pay in 30 up to $1,000. Longer plans: Financing 6–36 mo · 0–35.99% APR · late fee up to $35.

If neither covers what you need, a personal loan of $200–$5,000 repaid over 3–36 months is the usual next step — cash to your bank, usable at any store.

Credit score impact

Afterpay runs a soft check and does not currently report Pay in 4 activity to Equifax, Experian or TransUnion — on-time payments don't build credit, and a late payment isn't reported unless the debt goes to collections.

Klarna: Soft check for Pay in 4; hard check possible for financing; not routinely reported.

FICO's BNPL-aware scores (FICO Score 10 BNPL, announced June 2025) only matter where a provider reports. See Does Afterpay affect your credit?

Where each one works

Afterpay: 2,000+ US brands at checkout — strongest in fashion, beauty, home and electronics — plus the app's one-time card for Amazon and other Visa sites, and tap-to-pay in-store via Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Klarna: Klarna Card and one-time card almost anywhere. 120M+ active consumers; 1.2M merchants worldwide.

Verdict

Our take

Pick Afterpay for the simplest four-payment plan and the best in-store experience at US retailers. Pick Klarna if you want the 30-day "try first" option or shop at stores Afterpay doesn't reach. On a missed payment the difference is one dollar ($8 vs $7) — not a reason to choose either.

Choose Afterpay if…

  • You want one simple plan with no service fees
  • You shop in-store at Target, Macy's, Nordstrom, Ulta or Sephora
  • You already use Cash App
  • You want app-only brand deals

Choose Klarna if…

  • You want to try items before paying (Pay in 30)
  • You need financing beyond 24 months
  • Your favorite store only lists Klarna
  • You want the Klarna Card for everyday spend

Frequently asked questions

Is Klarna or Afterpay better for bad credit?

Both use a soft check for Pay in 4 and approve per order, so neither has a minimum score. Klarna's longer financing may involve a hard inquiry; Afterpay's Pay Monthly uses a soft check. Start small with either and pay on time.

Which has lower late fees, Klarna or Afterpay?

Klarna's cap is $7 per missed payment, Afterpay's is $8 — both after a 10-day grace period and both limited to 25% of the order. Klarna's financing plans can add late fees up to $35; Afterpay Pay Monthly has none.

Can I use both Klarna and Afterpay?

Yes. They're separate accounts with separate limits. Just track your total open installments — juggling several six-week plans is where late fees creep in.

Sources & method. Figures on this page were checked on November 8, 2026 against Afterpay's published US Installment Agreement and Pay Monthly Loan Agreement, the Afterpay help center, and third-party reporting (CFPB, Federal Reserve, NerdWallet, Bankrate). Terms change — confirm at checkout or in your app. AfterpayShopping.com is independent and not affiliated with Afterpay, Cash App or Block, Inc.

Partner offer Personal loans $200–$5,000

Afterpay said no? Limit too low? Borrow up to $5,000.

Two minutes, soft credit pull, funds as soon as the next business day if a lender approves you.

Not a lender. APR typically 5.99–35.99%, 3–36 months, set by the lender; not all applicants qualify. Example: $2,000 over 24 months at 24% APR = 24 × $105.72, total $2,537.28.