Head-to-head

Afterpay vs Zip

Same four interest-free payments — different fees, limits and credit rules. Here's where Afterpay and Zip actually differ, and which one to pick for your next purchase.

Updated November 8, 2026 4 min read Fact-checked against Afterpay's US terms
0% vs feecost when paid on time
$8 vs $5–10late fee
~$4,000Afterpay ceiling
Not reportedAfterpay Pay in 4 credit reporting

At a glance

Zip (Quadpay until 2021) takes a different approach from Afterpay: instead of charging merchants, it charges shoppers a small installment fee and gives them a virtual Visa that works almost anywhere. That makes Zip the most flexible BNPL card — and the only one in this comparison that costs money even when you pay on time.

APAfterpay
Short plan
Pay in 4 · 6 weeks
Cost on time
0%
Late fee
Up to $8 after 10-day grace; ≤25% of order
Longer plans
Pay Monthly $400–$4,000 · 3–24 mo · ~6.99–35.99% APR · no late fees
Limit
A few hundred $ to start; up to ~$4,000
In-store
Digital card in Apple/Google Pay; Plus Card subscription
ZPZip
Short plan
Pay in 4 · 6 weeks (also Pay in 8)
Cost on time
Installment fee — typically $1 per payment ($4 per order), up to ~$7.50
Late fee
$5, $7 or $10 depending on state
Longer plans
Pay in 8 with a larger fee ($16–$60); no traditional monthly loan in the US
Limit
Typically $250–$1,000; up to ~$1,500
In-store
Virtual Visa card works almost anywhere, online and in-store

Afterpay vs Zip: side by side

AfterpayZip
OwnerBlock, Inc. (Cash App)Zip Co (formerly Quadpay in the US)
Founded2014, Sydney2013, Sydney
Short-term planPay in 4 · 6 weeksPay in 4 · 6 weeks (also Pay in 8)
Cost when paid on time0%Installment fee — typically $1 per payment ($4 per order), up to ~$7.50
Late feeUp to $8 after 10-day grace; ≤25% of order$5, $7 or $10 depending on state
Longer financingPay Monthly $400–$4,000 · 3–24 mo · ~6.99–35.99% APR · no late feesPay in 8 with a larger fee ($16–$60); no traditional monthly loan in the US
Spending limitA few hundred $ to start; up to ~$4,000Typically $250–$1,000; up to ~$1,500
Credit check & reportingSoft check; Pay in 4 not reportedSoft check; not routinely reported
In-storeDigital card in Apple/Google Pay; Plus Card subscriptionVirtual Visa card works almost anywhere, online and in-store
Scale59M Cash App monthly actives; 2,000+ US brandsUS and Australia focus
Best forSimple, small-to-mid retail orders; in-store tap-to-payUsing BNPL at stores that don't partner with anyone

Published US terms as of November 8, 2026. Both providers approve each purchase individually; your offer may differ.

Fees and late payments

Both short-term plans are interest-free when paid on time. The differences show up when something goes wrong:

  • Afterpay: late fee up to $8 per installment, only after a 10-day grace period, total capped at 25% of the order. One free reschedule per order. Pay Monthly plans have no late fees.
  • Zip: $5, $7 or $10 depending on state. Installment fees apply even when you pay on time.

Whichever you use: turn on autopay, keep the linked card funded, and don't run more than two or three plans at once. LendingTree found 47% of BNPL users paid at least one installment late in the past year — the fee is small, but the habit isn't.

Limits and longer plans

Afterpay starts new customers at a few hundred dollars and raises the available-to-spend with on-time history toward about $4,000. For $400–$4,000 online purchases, Pay Monthly adds 3–24-month terms at a disclosed APR.

Zip: Typically $250–$1,000; up to ~$1,500. Longer plans: Pay in 8 with a larger fee ($16–$60); no traditional monthly loan in the US.

If neither covers what you need, a personal loan of $200–$5,000 repaid over 3–36 months is the usual next step — cash to your bank, usable at any store.

Credit score impact

Afterpay runs a soft check and does not currently report Pay in 4 activity to Equifax, Experian or TransUnion — on-time payments don't build credit, and a late payment isn't reported unless the debt goes to collections.

Zip: Soft check; not routinely reported.

FICO's BNPL-aware scores (FICO Score 10 BNPL, announced June 2025) only matter where a provider reports. See Does Afterpay affect your credit?

Where each one works

Afterpay: 2,000+ US brands at checkout — strongest in fashion, beauty, home and electronics — plus the app's one-time card for Amazon and other Visa sites, and tap-to-pay in-store via Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Zip: Virtual Visa card works almost anywhere, online and in-store. US and Australia focus.

Verdict

Our take

Afterpay is cheaper by design — $0 when you pay on time versus Zip's $4-per-order fee — and has far more native partners. Zip earns its place when you need to split a purchase at a store that doesn't integrate any BNPL provider and you'd rather not wait for the Afterpay app's one-time card.

Choose Afterpay if…

  • You want 0% with no per-order fee
  • The store lists Afterpay natively
  • You shop in-store at major US retailers
  • You want a growing limit toward $4,000

Choose Zip if…

  • The store accepts no BNPL provider at all
  • You value a virtual card that works anywhere, instantly
  • You want eight smaller payments instead of four
  • A $4 fee is worth the flexibility to you

Frequently asked questions

Does Zip charge interest?

Not on Pay in 4 — instead it charges an installment fee (typically $1 per payment, $4 per order, sometimes up to about $7.50) which is disclosed as a finance charge. Afterpay charges $0 when you pay on time.

Which has higher late fees, Zip or Afterpay?

Zip's late fee is $5, $7 or $10 depending on your state; Afterpay's is up to $8 after a 10-day grace period, capped at 25% of the order.

Can Zip be used anywhere?

Nearly — Zip issues a virtual Visa for each purchase that works wherever Visa is accepted, online and in-store. Afterpay's one-time card does the same online, and its Plus Card subscription does in-store.

Sources & method. Figures on this page were checked on November 8, 2026 against Afterpay's published US Installment Agreement and Pay Monthly Loan Agreement, the Afterpay help center, and third-party reporting (CFPB, Federal Reserve, NerdWallet, Bankrate). Terms change — confirm at checkout or in your app. AfterpayShopping.com is independent and not affiliated with Afterpay, Cash App or Block, Inc.

Partner offer Personal loans $200–$5,000

Afterpay said no? Limit too low? Borrow up to $5,000.

Two minutes, soft credit pull, funds as soon as the next business day if a lender approves you.

Not a lender. APR typically 5.99–35.99%, 3–36 months, set by the lender; not all applicants qualify. Example: $2,000 over 24 months at 24% APR = 24 × $105.72, total $2,537.28.