Head-to-head

Afterpay vs PayPal Pay in 4

Same four interest-free payments — different fees, limits and credit rules. Here's where Afterpay and PayPal Pay in 4 actually differ, and which one to pick for your next purchase.

Updated November 8, 2026 4 min read Fact-checked against Afterpay's US terms
0% vs 0%cost when paid on time
$8 vs $0late fee
~$4,000Afterpay ceiling
Not reportedAfterpay Pay in 4 credit reporting

At a glance

PayPal Pay in 4 is the quiet giant of BNPL: no app to download, no late fees, and it appears wherever PayPal does. Afterpay's edge is reach — in-store, in the app, and at thousands of fashion and beauty brands — plus a limit that can grow well past PayPal's $1,500 per-purchase cap.

APAfterpay
Short plan
Pay in 4 · 6 weeks
Cost on time
0%
Late fee
Up to $8 after 10-day grace; ≤25% of order
Longer plans
Pay Monthly $400–$4,000 · 3–24 mo · ~6.99–35.99% APR · no late fees
Limit
A few hundred $ to start; up to ~$4,000
In-store
Digital card in Apple/Google Pay; Plus Card subscription
PPPayPal Pay in 4
Short plan
Pay in 4 · 6 weeks
Cost on time
0%
Late fee
None — no sign-up or late fees
Longer plans
PayPal Pay Monthly $49–$10,000 · 3–24 mo · 9.99–35.99% APR · no late fees
Limit
$30–$1,500 per purchase
In-store
Online only (anywhere PayPal is accepted)

Afterpay vs PayPal Pay in 4: side by side

AfterpayPayPal Pay in 4
OwnerBlock, Inc. (Cash App)PayPal Holdings
Founded2014, SydneyPay in 4 launched 2020
Short-term planPay in 4 · 6 weeksPay in 4 · 6 weeks
Cost when paid on time0%0%
Late feeUp to $8 after 10-day grace; ≤25% of orderNone — no sign-up or late fees
Longer financingPay Monthly $400–$4,000 · 3–24 mo · ~6.99–35.99% APR · no late feesPayPal Pay Monthly $49–$10,000 · 3–24 mo · 9.99–35.99% APR · no late fees
Spending limitA few hundred $ to start; up to ~$4,000$30–$1,500 per purchase
Credit check & reportingSoft check; Pay in 4 not reportedSoft check; not routinely reported
In-storeDigital card in Apple/Google Pay; Plus Card subscriptionOnline only (anywhere PayPal is accepted)
Scale59M Cash App monthly actives; 2,000+ US brandsHundreds of millions of PayPal accounts
Best forSimple, small-to-mid retail orders; in-store tap-to-payOnline purchases up to $1,500 at PayPal checkouts, zero fee risk

Published US terms as of November 8, 2026. Both providers approve each purchase individually; your offer may differ.

Fees and late payments

Both short-term plans are interest-free when paid on time. The differences show up when something goes wrong:

  • Afterpay: late fee up to $8 per installment, only after a 10-day grace period, total capped at 25% of the order. One free reschedule per order. Pay Monthly plans have no late fees.
  • PayPal Pay in 4: None — no sign-up or late fees.

Whichever you use: turn on autopay, keep the linked card funded, and don't run more than two or three plans at once. LendingTree found 47% of BNPL users paid at least one installment late in the past year — the fee is small, but the habit isn't.

Limits and longer plans

Afterpay starts new customers at a few hundred dollars and raises the available-to-spend with on-time history toward about $4,000. For $400–$4,000 online purchases, Pay Monthly adds 3–24-month terms at a disclosed APR.

PayPal Pay in 4: $30–$1,500 per purchase. Longer plans: PayPal Pay Monthly $49–$10,000 · 3–24 mo · 9.99–35.99% APR · no late fees.

If neither covers what you need, a personal loan of $200–$5,000 repaid over 3–36 months is the usual next step — cash to your bank, usable at any store.

Credit score impact

Afterpay runs a soft check and does not currently report Pay in 4 activity to Equifax, Experian or TransUnion — on-time payments don't build credit, and a late payment isn't reported unless the debt goes to collections.

PayPal Pay in 4: Soft check; not routinely reported.

FICO's BNPL-aware scores (FICO Score 10 BNPL, announced June 2025) only matter where a provider reports. See Does Afterpay affect your credit?

Where each one works

Afterpay: 2,000+ US brands at checkout — strongest in fashion, beauty, home and electronics — plus the app's one-time card for Amazon and other Visa sites, and tap-to-pay in-store via Apple Pay or Google Pay.

PayPal Pay in 4: Online only (anywhere PayPal is accepted). Hundreds of millions of PayPal accounts.

Verdict

Our take

If the store takes PayPal and the order is under $1,500, PayPal Pay in 4 is the safer pick — same 0%, no late fees at all. Afterpay wins anywhere PayPal isn't offered, for in-store tap-to-pay, and once your Afterpay limit grows past $1,500.

Choose Afterpay if…

  • You want to pay in-store with your phone
  • Your order is over $1,500
  • The store offers Afterpay but not PayPal
  • You want a shopping app with brand deals

Choose PayPal Pay in 4 if…

  • The checkout already has PayPal
  • You want zero chance of a late fee
  • You don't want another app or account
  • You want PayPal Purchase Protection on the order

Frequently asked questions

Does PayPal Pay in 4 charge late fees?

No. PayPal charges no sign-up or late fees on Pay in 4. A missed payment can still restrict future use and be sent to collections.

What is the PayPal Pay in 4 limit?

Eligible purchases are $30 to $1,500, decided per purchase. Afterpay has no fixed per-order cap — your available-to-spend grows over time toward about $4,000.

Can I use PayPal Pay in 4 in a store?

No, it's online only. Afterpay offers in-store payments through its digital card in Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Sources & method. Figures on this page were checked on November 8, 2026 against Afterpay's published US Installment Agreement and Pay Monthly Loan Agreement, the Afterpay help center, and third-party reporting (CFPB, Federal Reserve, NerdWallet, Bankrate). Terms change — confirm at checkout or in your app. AfterpayShopping.com is independent and not affiliated with Afterpay, Cash App or Block, Inc.

Partner offer Personal loans $200–$5,000

Afterpay said no? Limit too low? Borrow up to $5,000.

Two minutes, soft credit pull, funds as soon as the next business day if a lender approves you.

Not a lender. APR typically 5.99–35.99%, 3–36 months, set by the lender; not all applicants qualify. Example: $2,000 over 24 months at 24% APR = 24 × $105.72, total $2,537.28.